Lions v South Africa A Live: Score updates as tourists in early trouble

What’s the team news?

Tour captain Conor Murray starts his first Lions tour match, while the only players retained from the win over Sharks on Saturday are Anthony Watson, Chris Harris and fly-half Dan Biggar.

Watson shifts from right wing to full-back, with Harris moving to 13 where he is joined in midfield by Bundee Aki.

As for the hosts, South Africa ‘A’ contains no fewer than 18 World Cup winners and looks far more like a Test side than a tour warm-up fixture.

The starting XV features five players who started in the Springboks’ warm-up Test against Georgia: World Cup winners Willie le Roux (full-back), Pieter-Steph du Toit (flank), Franco Mostert, Eben Etzebeth (both locks) and Trevor Nyakane (prop).

Other World Cup winners in the starting side include prop Steven Kitshoff, Faf de Klerk at scrum-half, wings Cheslin Kolbe and Sbu Nkosi and centres Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am, who captains the side.

Morne Steyn – who kicked the penalty goal to win a series against the Lions 12 years ago – will face the Lions again.

A bench of 10 has been named, but it will be cut to eight closer to the match.

British and Irish Lions: 15. Anthony Watson, 14. Louis Rees-Zammit, 13. Chris Harris, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. Josh Adams, 10. Dan Biggar, 9. Conor Murray (capt), 1. Wyn Jones, 2. Ken Owens, 3. Kyle Sinckler, 4. Maro Itoje, 5. Iain Henderson, 6. Josh Navidi, 7. Tom Curry, 8. Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17. Mako Vunipola, 18. Zander Fagerson, 19. Adam Beard, 20. Tadhg Beirne, 21. Sam Simmonds, 22. Gareth Davies, 23. Elliot Daly.

South Africa ‘A’: 15. Willie le Roux, 14. Cheslin Kolbe, 13. Lukhanyo Am (capt), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Sbu Nkosi, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Faf de Klerk, 1. Steven Kitshoff, 2. Joseph Dweba, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 5. Franco Mostert, 6. Marco van Staden, 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8. Jasper Wiese.

Replacements: 16. Malcolm Marx, 17. Coenie Oosthuizen, 18. Vincent Koch, 19. Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 20. Rynhardt Elstadt, 21. Herschel Jantjies, 22. Jesse Kriel, 23. Damian Willemse, 24. Kwagga Smith, 25. Elton Jantjies.


Source link :

Author :

Publish date : 2021-07-14 18:13:00

share on: