T20 World Cup; MCG to host the 2022 World Cup final

Australia could be defending its T20 World Cup title at this iconic ground when the final of the 2022 tournament is played next November.

Australia could be defending its T20 World Cup title at the MCG, which has been locked in to host the final of the 2022 tournament.

Forty-five matches will be played across Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney next October and November before the final at the MCG on November 13.

The semi-finals will be hosted at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10 respectively.

The announcement comes just 24 hours after Australia powered its way to a maiden T20 World Cup title, defeating New Zealand in Dubai, and just as the victors arrived home in Brisbane.

It’s the first time Australia will host the men’s T20 World Cup and comes after the MCG hosted a world record crowd for the women’s T20 World Cup final, won by Australia, in 2020 in front of 86,174 people

Australia was supposed to host the 2020 tournament, which was moved to the United Arab Emirates this year because of Covid-19 complications.

“We are looking forward to seeing the return of ICC events to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022,” ICC head of events Chris Tetley said.

“Following the success of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and a two-year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event with the LOC (local organising committee).

“With 12 teams already confirmed in the line-up, we eagerly await the culmination of the qualification process to see which other teams will join them.”

Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa are confirmed starters in the Super 12s stage of the tournament next year.

2022 T20 World Cup

Dates: October 16 to November 13

Host cities: Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney

Automatically qualified for Super 12s: Australia, New Zealand, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh

Automatically qualified for round 1: Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, Namibia, (four more teams to be confirmed)


Source link : https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-mcg-will-host-the-final-of-the-2022-t20-world-cup-with-matches-in-seven-cities-across-australia/news-story/d567016d7d47c1a21cd89002ec62b5b2

Author :

Publish date : 2021-11-15 23:37:47

share on: